Character Design: Primordial (3D Sculpting Part One)

I went onto Lynda.com and binge watched the Z-Brush Essential Training. A friend who has experience in using Z-Brush was also kind enough to take some time to give me a terror filled crash course on sculpting a character in Z-Brush. So I began my first foray into Z-Brush sculpting with as much information I can gather stuffed into my head. I first attempted to use Z-Spheres to block out the shape but it didn’t seem to be working so I moved onto sculpting from a basic sphere. That process went a lot faster and smoother and I could get a very rough model out by the end of the day.

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 11.35.34 am

Z-Sphere Sculpting (First Attempt)

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 12.42.32 pm

Modelling From A Sphere (Second Attempt)

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 12.54.39 pm

Pulling Out The Legs & First Set Of Arms

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 1.19.56 pm

Onto The Second Set Of Arms

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 1.36.40 pm

Shaping The Head

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 1.41.03 pm

Giving The Head More Definition

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 1.53.21 pm

Pulling Out The Horns & Tentacles

Leave a Reply

