Character Design: Primordial (3D Sculpting Part Three)

I worked on finishing the Primordial model today. On advice from Sang I started in Maya to build and complete the teeth using cylinders as base models. I ran into some problems with the inverted vertices but thankfully I had some help to fix it and then export them into Z-Brush. After that I adjusted his teeth to fit into his jawline. It took more work than I expected, having gotten used to Z-Brush’s interface it was disorienting at first to go back into Maya. I was lost for the better part of an hour but I pushed passed it in the end. I have conflicted feelings about Maya and my abilities to use it well as it’s a very overwhelming program. In any case once the teeth were fitted and detailed I moved onto painting the model which was incredibly fun. After watching a quick tutorial on Digital Tutors I changed the model’s material to one named Z-Bro Paint and got to work. The new material was excellent to paint and add colour on. The painting process went by quickly and by the time I called it a day I had the model completed (whoohoo!) and ready for rigging. But I will save the image of that for my next post.

Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 8.37.30 pm

Modelling The Teeth In Maya

Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 8.26.57 pm

First Attempt At Fixing The Inverse Sides

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 6.39.57 pm

Bringing The Teeth Into Z-Brush

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 6.42.36 pm

Adjusting The Teeth To Fit The Jaw

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 11.30.05 am

Changing Material To Z-Bro Paint And Texturing The Teeth

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 11.41.51 am

Painting/Colouring The Head

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 1.49.18 pm

Finishing The Head

 

Leave a Reply

