Character Design: Primordial (3D Sculpting Part Four)

The last stretch! I’m a little delirious from the lack of sleep but I want to get this completed while I still have some wind in the sails. Everything I need for the presentation (in five hours wow) is as ready as it can be. I’m relieved, worried and proud all at once but I’m excited to show Phil and Brendan what I have done. I completed the painting the model and touched up certain areas lie the arm muscles and horns which didn’t look right to me. Afterwards I went onto the parts that I was dreading; rigging and compositing. I went back to using Z-Spheres in order to map out the skeletal rig. I don’t remember when was the exact moment I thought giving it tentacles was a good idea but I was cursing that decision when I was trying to figure how much articulation points (I don’t know the exact term, I just made this one up) the tentacles would need so they would be able to twist and curl over his shoulders. I can’t say that the rigging was a complete success but in the end I managed to get something out of the process and pose the character in a couple of poses. I continued on with the render passes in Z-Brush (which were more straightforward than in Maya) and spent the rest of night editing my presentation slides. So now to bed and good luck to me in five hours.

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 3.11.30 pm

Primordial Complete Model (Front)

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 3.12.06 pm

Primordial Complete Model (Three Quarter View)

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 3.11.44 pm

Primordial Complete Model (Profile)

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 3.11.53 pm

Primordial Complete Model (Back)

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 4.46.04 pm

Primordial Complete Model (Head Close-Up)

Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 4.16.04 am

Using Z-Spheres To RigScreen Shot 2015-12-11 at 4.16.40 am

Z-Sphere Rigging Continued

RagnarokProjectPose01

Primordial First Pose Variation

RagnarokProjectPose02A

Primordial Second Pose Variation

RagnarokProjectPose02B

Primordial Second Pose Variation (Another View)

Leave a Reply

