Idea Nuggets: Chicken Lady

One of the ideas that I have for our Idea Nuggets session of the Going Live project is from a video of Michelle Dobyne. As an eyewitness to a building fire she accounts her experience escaping it with her children. Her upbeat and defiant response to a fire breaking out inside her Oklahoma apartment and enthusiastic storytelling filled with African American colloquialisms went viral. When the brief for our Going Live project was given to us I thought that this particular video would be a good candidate to pitch. Not only was Michelle honest and unintentionally hilarious, I also could not stop picturing her as a mother hen. The Creature Comfort series animated by Aardman Studios was given to us as a reference point and I suppose my thoughts were already leaning in that direction. I set about searching for chicken references and illustrations and made some sketches of how I pictured the main interview shot of the animation to look like.

The rest of the team are also considering other ideas including Andrea’s crash test dummies and toys idea and I’m a little hesitant to develop my ideas for this one too much. So we will see at our next meeting which direction Axis and the class can agree to on. It is exciting to see how everyone has progressed and the process of developing ideas as a group has been a lot of fun so far.

Michelle Dobyne Viral Fire Interview

[Blog]GoingLiveChickenLadyConcept01

Chicken Lady Concept Sketches

[Blog]GoingLiveChickenLadyConcept02

Chicken Lady Concept Sketch

I found a sketch from las semester from when one night, on my way to the bathroom I tripped over one of the cats and injured my drawing hand. A quick trip to Ninewells later determined that nothing was broken only sore. I couldn’t draw with that hand so I tried to draw using life drawing videos as reference. I’ve been able to do so before but I am out of practice. Ambidexterity training is said to open new neural pathways between the left hemisphere of the brain and the right. As a child I favoured the use of my left hand more than the right, it was trained out of me by my parents. I am trying to use my left hand more often for everyday tasks. Hopefully it will become more dominant in the future and I will have taught myself to write with both hands.

[Blog]AnatomyStudies02

Non-Dominant Hand Life Drawing

Leave a Reply

